TL;DR
Get kitchen gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
AT&T has integrated Google’s Gemini for Home features with its Connected Life security system. Camera-event descriptions, natural-language video search and daily activity summaries require AT&T’s professional monitoring plan, which costs $29.99 per month.
AT&T has added Gemini for Home features to its Connected Life security system, allowing eligible customers to get descriptions of camera events, search recorded footage with natural-language questions and review summaries of activity around their homes. The AI features are limited to AT&T’s professional monitoring plan, priced at $29.99 per month.
According to the report, Gemini can describe events captured by Connected Life cameras with details such as who delivered a package and how many items were left. Subscribers can also ask questions about recorded video in everyday language, including “What dug up the yard last night?” or “Who let the dogs out?” The system can provide daily summaries of activity inside and outside the home.
The new AI tools are not described as features available to every Connected Life customer: access requires AT&T’s professional $29.99-a-month monitoring plan. AT&T is also adding an option to automatically arm or disarm the system based on how close a customer is to home. The source does not specify whether that proximity feature has the same plan requirement.
AT&T says Connected Life is the first home security product to integrate with Google Home Premium. That distinction is AT&T’s claim; the source material does not provide an independent comparison of competing systems. The report also does not detail which camera models or other Connected Life devices support the Gemini features.
AI Search Comes to Home Security
The integration changes how subscribers can review camera footage. Instead of scanning recordings manually or relying only on motion alerts, a customer can ask a question about an event and use Gemini to search video in natural language. Event descriptions and daily summaries may also make it easier to understand what happened without watching every clip.
For customers, the main immediate consideration is the subscription requirement: these AI features are tied to a professional monitoring plan that costs $29.99 monthly. The announcement also puts AT&T among providers connecting home-security equipment to Google’s AI tools, though practical value will depend on how well the features work with real footage, what devices they support and how quickly relevant clips can be found.
Products Worth Considering

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

Philips 2200 Series Fully Automatic Espresso Machine with Classic Milk Frother, 2 Coffee Varieties, Intuitive Touch Display, Ceramic Grinder

Traeger Westwood Wood Pellet Grill and Smoker, 653 sq. in., WiFIRE
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Connected Life and Google’s Home APIs
AT&T launched Connected Life last December in partnership with Google and Abode. The new integration builds on Google’s Gemini-powered Home APIs, which let smart-home brands and developers create AI features for connected devices. The current announcement applies those capabilities to AT&T’s security system, particularly its camera footage and system controls.
The report says ADT has also hinted that it may bring Gemini for Home features to its security systems. That is an indication of possible future adoption, not confirmation of an ADT launch or a timetable. No further details about ADT’s plans are provided in the source material.
““first” home security product to integrate with Google Home Premium”
— AT&T
Feature Access and Device Support
The source does not state when the features become available, whether the release is rolling out to all customers at once, or which Connected Life cameras and devices are compatible. It also does not explain how long video is retained, whether searches operate only on stored recordings, or what safeguards apply to AI-generated descriptions.
It is also unclear whether the proximity-based arming option is included in the same $29.99 professional plan or is available to other Connected Life customers. AT&T’s “first” claim is not accompanied by comparisons with other security products, and ADT’s possible Gemini integration remains a hint rather than a confirmed product announcement.
Watch for Rollout and Plan Details
The next practical details to look for are AT&T’s rollout schedule, supported-device list and plan terms, including whether proximity-based arming has separate eligibility rules. Those details would help current customers determine whether their equipment and subscription qualify.
Customers considering the service will also need clear information about the AI features’ operation, including how searches handle recorded footage and how event summaries are presented. The source material gives no launch date or additional pricing beyond the stated $29.99 monthly monitoring plan, so availability and feature-specific terms remain unconfirmed.
Key Questions
What Gemini features are coming to AT&T Connected Life?
Eligible customers can get descriptions of camera events, search recorded footage using natural-language questions and review daily summaries of activity inside and outside the home.
How much does the plan cost?
The reported AI features require AT&T’s professional monitoring plan, priced at $29.99 per month. The source does not provide other plan prices or explain whether taxes or fees apply.
Can Gemini search for a particular event in camera footage?
Yes. The report says subscribers can ask natural-language questions about recorded footage, such as what dug up a yard or who let the dogs out.
Can Connected Life automatically arm or disarm when someone gets home?
AT&T is adding an option to arm or disarm the system based on proximity to home. The source does not specify the feature’s availability date or which plans include it.
When will the Gemini features be available, and which devices support them?
The source material does not give a rollout date or compatible-device list. Customers will need AT&T’s availability and support details to confirm whether their equipment qualifies.
Source: theverge.com
